Select your version:

Restore or repair a desktop

You can use the Desktop Repair feature to:

  • Return desktops to a previous state.
  • Move desktops from a lost or damaged CachePoint to a different CachePoint.
  • Clear desktops, including the desktop's application and configuration data, user data, or both.

Repair options are only available for desktops that have been backed up. If you want to clear a desktop that hasn't been backed up, use the Backup action in the Desktops module to do a manual backup.

Restore (or clear) options

You can restore or clear a desktop's configuration and applications, or its user data, or both, as described in Desktop repair preferences below.

Restore or clear option What it does

Restore to original CachePoint

Restores a desktop to the CachePoint on which it was created.

For a single desktop, you can restore to any scheduled or manual backup in the archive. For multiple desktops, you get the most recent backup of each desktop.

Restore to a different CachePoint

Restores a desktop(s) to a CachePoint other than the current one. For example, if a CachePoint or its ESX host fails, you can move the desktops to a new CachePoint, and users can log back in.

For a single desktop, you can restore to any scheduled or manual backup in the archive. For multiple desktops, you get the most recent backup of each desktop.

The new CachePoint must be at the same (or later) Unidesk software version, but the new host does not need to share the same datastores or settings as the previous one. Any Unidesk configuration settings are preserved, even if they were set after the last backup.

Reset or clear (one desktop only)

Clears a Desktop's data, including configurations and applications, and/or the user's data files. This is useful when applications or data become corrupted. (Not available for multiple desktops.)

Repair (data) preferences

When restoring to the originalCachePoint Appliance or clearing a desktop, you can choose to include the following types of data. When restoring to a different CachePoint Appliance, All desktop data is restored.

Data preference Data included

Configurations and applications (Application Layers) only

The desktop's personalized settings and user-installed applications. The desktop's user content does not change.

Data files (User Layer) only

The desktop's user data only. This includes only the data files that the user created. Any personalized settings or user-installed applications do not change.

All

The entire desktop, including all user-personalized settings, user-installed applications, and user content.

Before you start

Ensure that you have at least one backup for each of the desktops you want to restore to a previous backup.

Note: If the Backup action is grayed out, this means that the CachePoint where the desktop is stored does not have an Archive Storage Tier configured. You can change this setting on the CachePoint's Edit Properties, Storage Tiers tab, and then manually back up the desktop(s) using the Backup action.

Restore Desktops

To restore one or more desktops:

  1. Click Desktops.

  2. Select the desktop(s) you want to restore or clear, and click Repair in the Action tab:

    Desktops selected Options

    1 desktop

    Gives you options to restore the desktop to any available backup in the archive, or to clear personalized desktop data.

    2+ desktops

    Gives you options to restore the desktops to the most recent available backup for each desktop in the archive. (The Clear option is not available.)

    Notes:

    • If the Repair action is grayed out, this means there is no backup from which to restore the desktop(s).
    • If a message like the following is displayed, one or more selected desktops does not have a backup from which to be restored.

      ! Only n of the nn selected desktops will be restored.

    • If the Backup action is also grayed out, this means that the CachePoint where the desktop is stored does not have an Archive Storage Tier configured. You can change this setting on the CachePoint's Edit Properties, Storage Tiers tab, and then manually back up the desktop(s) using the Backup action.
  3. Under Restore Options, select a Restore or Clear option.

  4. If you are restoring one desktop, also specify these available options. (These options are not available for multiple desktops.)

    1. Select a Repair (data) preference,.
    2. If you chose a Restore option, select from the list of available backups.
  5. In the Confirm and Complete tab, verify your selections and click Restore Desktop(s). The restoration process begins, restoring up to four desktops at a time.